O my people, what have I done to you?

Yesterday, at the Good Friday service, our parish choir sang what is known the Reproaches. It is our dear Savior speaking to his people, asking them what he did to deserve crucifixion and death. We have all crucified Christ with our sins, and so this speaks directly to us.

Popule Meus

O my people, what have I done to you?
How have I hurt you? Answer me.

O my people, what have I done to you?
How have I hurt you? Answer me.

I led you out of Egypt,
From slavery I set you free.
I brought you into a land of promise:
You have prepared a cross for me.

I led you as a shepherd,
I brought you dryshod through the sea;
I fed you manna in the desert
You have prepared a cross for me.

I fought for you in battles,
I won you strength and victory;
Gave you a royal crown and sceptre:
You have prepared a cross for me.

I planted you, my vineyard,
And cared for you most tenderly;
Looked for abundant fruit and found none:
Only the cross you made for me.

Then listen to my pleading
And do not turn away from me.
You are my people: will you reject me?
For you I suffer bitterly.

 

Leave a Reply

